Weekly Awards- Chris Wampler Player of the Week

Who do you say is Chris Wampler?

Chris Wampler is my favorite player of all-time. Perhaps the only guy to put butterflies in my stomach. He was a 6’3 guard for my high my school team the Tippecanoe “Tipp City” Red Devils! The summer 1985 he became the inspiration for my game as I stared at him through the chain link from my beach towel at the community pool. His smooth jumper tanned skin and handsomely set jaw had my full attention as I watched him play everyone but himself off the court in the sun up to sun down pickup games on what later also became my own little spot of heaven the Tipp City Park basketball court. There may still be a bit of sweat soaked up in the roots of the big oak tree offering shade to all who sought a moments rest awaiting the nod and “I got next…”

When winter came that shine didn’t wear off as my sweaty palms held tight to my THS Athletics program and circled every point my idol scored and maybe even dropped the pencil jumping up as he put a dagger in the heart of the Greenville Green Wave, nailing the long buzzer beater to out dual Bill Funderburg his equally lauded rival.

A guard playing without the benefit of the 3 point line he averaged over 20 points per game.*  His “bag” included a decent handle, heady passes, and a perimeter game with long jumpers everybody knew were coming…opponents threw double teams, triple teams at him…but no body could stop!

*The 3 point line first arrived to high school basketball in the 1986-87 season…the year AFTER Chris graduated. With his long range it could be argued his 20 points actually translate to 30 points or more in today’s “modern era” of basketball. (And to which I say…Hold on to your ovaries Chris at least you weren’t playing 6 on 6!)

Chris a big fish in a pretty small pond…or big canoe in a little stream, lead his team to a decent record and a sectional championship in the Ohio boys high school state tournament ‘85-86…which meant I got to watch two games in the largest indoor sporting venue I’d ever experienced, Hobart Arena. An arena in the neighboring city owned by an industrial manufacturing company with a very distinct odor. It smelled like stale air, sweat, and…canned tomatoes? (Hobart Co. is a provider of industrial food service and commercial food equipment).

Chris who I thought at age 11 for sure was deserving of a spot in the NBA did not get drafted that year (holla Brad Daugherty Cleveland Cavaliers).  Instead he made 2nd team All-Ohio and earned a four year scholarship to Division 1 Wright State University.

From 1987-90, my legend of the court averaged about 5 points a game and mostly a bench player struggled to get minutes at a D1 Mid-Major.  

It is an understatement to say sometimes life doesn’t turn out as you thought. This would also be an understatement to the end of our story.

On a weekend home from college about 10 years later, I ran into Chris at a drugstore holding my emergency bowel program supplies, a box of liquid glycerine suppositories…and stood tongue-tied. Somehow my fair-hair hero had gone bald and looked a lot like his handsome mother.

His big smile suggested he was expecting shy giggly fan girl adoration. I stood face beaming out mild shock n horror…

“Hi, I um…just picking up a few items for my dad. I’d better get it to him…” and made a hard cut to the door!

So, Chris served as the foundation of some of my fondest childhood memories…In reflection, he was my basketball Jesus. Where his arrival in my world lead somewhere and the agony of defeat still a temporary passing surprise…the expected hardened shell of a kind of learned helplessness of a SCI (spinal cord injury) had not yet set in…

It is in the spirit of perhaps kindred spirits found on the court and the joy it still brings I offer the very first ever…

Chris Wampler Player of the Week

This is a player who best embodies his game and provided an exciting watch this week (…it’s heavily weighted toward guards and doesn’t hurt if they are also attractive!)

MARINE JOHANNES aka “Jo Jo Buckets”

Jo Jo Buckets of the New York Liberty put in a VERY impressive performance this week…including several “Statue of Liberty layups” in a losing effort against the Chicago Sky.

Leave a comment